Work? Optional!- Blogging101 Daily Post

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Work? Optional!.”

Today, for our Blogging101 daily post, we were challenged to pick a prompt and write to it- making sure that it was our own take and molding it to our blog. Since I hope for this to become a lifestyle blog at some point- I thought the “Work? Optional!” prompt was perfect for me. (It’s not today’s prompt from the Daily Post but as I’ve never written from one, it took a bit of searching to find one to fit my “voice.”)

What would you doif you didn't have to work-

If money were out of the equation, would I still work? Absolutely. But would I change careers? Definitely.

It’s not that I don’t enjoy my current career (I work in housing). I do. It’s rewarding and challenges me to always learn new things but if I had a choice, I’d probably choose something a bit more creative. I’m a bit of a busy body, as I’ve mentioned before, and honestly I think if I didn’t have something to stress me out just a little bit, I’d go crazy. Work keeps me on my toes.

What would that something creative be? Ultimately, Jon and I would love to open a bed and breakfast together. Cliché? Maybe. But we have this vision of opening a small family run inn somewhere in rural America (or Europe, dare we dream that big). It would have a ten seat restaurant where of course Chef Hubby would be in charge of the menu and we’d serve food farm-to-table style. A seasonal menu full of fresh picked vegetables from our garden right outside.

There’d have to be a hen house in the backyard for a handful of chickens to live in and a few dairy cows. Maybe some sheep?  Definitely some sheep. (Have you seen this video? I’m pretty sure I need sheep for future babies to ride.) Oh, and how could I forget! A pack of Frenchies to roam the hills of our sprawling farm with Bruno as their leader! haha I’d be there to take care of the animals and run the business side- because even though its supposed to be my creative outlet, I AM the practical one so that’d probably be up to me 😉 I’d do it all in a pair of overalls- because who cares if they’re fashionable at that point- and go barefoot 99% of the time. Occasionally, I’d pick up a worn-out piece of furniture from a neighbor and flip it to sell at the local flea market during the summer. Just for fun.

The ideal situation of course would be to make enough money with the business that we would be able to travel and fulfill our wanderlust daydreams- taking one or two big trips a year with the kiddies and then come back to a house full of guests. We love to entertain so why not do it for a living you know?

What about you? If you didn’t have to work, would you? Leave your answer in the comments!

North of Wrigley (1)

8 thoughts on “Work? Optional!- Blogging101 Daily Post

  1. Sincerely, Hil says:

    Your dream of opening a bed and breakfast sounds so great! Oh to live our dreams… hopefully that will happen for you one day! I would do as Alli said and travel the world. If I could travel and work at the same time, that would be pretty great too. I wouldn’t be doing what I’m doing now, like you said – I would choose something a little more creative if I didn’t have to worry about income. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thegatvolblogger says:

    A bed and breakfast is definitely a creative problem solving task. It is great to be able to work for yourself and really do something that you enjoy or pursue your dream. This kind of question kinda forces you to think why am I not doing that, doesn’t it? It seems you have it well thought out right to the last detail. Live the dream.

    Like

Leave a Reply

