Day 2 of Whole30

Mally's

So yesterday I embarked on what is probably going to be one of the biggest challenges in my life thus far- the Whole30. For those of you who don’t know what that means, I’ll spell it out for you:

– No alcohol

– No sugar

– No dairy

– No processed foods

– No legumes

– No additives

– No grains

I’m sure you’re staring at this list thinking  WT-ACTUAL-F, is she crazy?! Why would anyone do that, especially someone who lives in Chicago, where the only months to enjoy being alive are June-September?! 

I know right? I can hardly believe I’m doing it either. For someone who is addicted to bread and has a chef-hubby, it would’ve seemed nearly impossible a few months ago. But after researching a bit and reading It Starts with Food (a guide to all things Whole30 by the creators of the program), I was totally hooked.

The premise is to “restart” your bodily functions by eliminating anything in your diet which may cause an unpleasant reaction- inflammation, skin reactions, etc. I’ve been feeling like absolute shit lately, tired and sluggish, despite my efforts in exercising more than ever and Whole30 lists increased energy as one of the many benefits of the program! So what exactly am I eating? That’s the surprisingly easy part-

– Meat

– Seafood

– Vegetables

– Fruits

– Eggs

– Healthy fats (oils, nuts, seeds)

Thus, I can make some great meals even sans my beloved grains! On Day 2 I’m feeling a bit tired and a little hungry but otherwise it’s smooth sailing so far.

Stay tuned for updates and meal plans as I make this journey to a healthier me!

North of Wrigley (1)

Leave a Reply

